Won’t someone think of the children?

The 1970s were a very different time.  For many housewives of my mother’s generation, amphetamines helped keep the house clean and shiny. With all that energy, it’s no wonder moms had time to make dress-up clothes, games, and toys to keep the children busy and blissfully unaware of Mom’s little pill problem. From the expression on this girl’s face, though, I think she suspects something.

“Thanks for the swell puppets, Mommy . . . I just wish my friends’ parents hadn’t all told them they couldn’t play over here anymore.”

“They’re finger puppets, sweetie. As long as you have fingers, you don’t need anyone else. I learned that from being married to your father. Now go play with your toys. I have a skateboard to make for your brother.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment