not.a.doll*

What toy could be more loved and cherished throughout a child’s years than a doll handmade by someone who loves her?

Here we have an example of a rather nice homemade doll.

Though I can’t help sharing that the way this child holds her makes me think of this creepy scene from Lost.

Still, given that Barbie has been around since 1959, I suspect that the children being given these as toys might have been more than a little disappointed.

Hell, even the doll looks disappointed.

And I thought Barbie was unrealistically thin and anatomically incorrect. It’s the little raptor arms on the last one that I find particularly enchanting.

These I like because, though it says “corn dollies” at the top, and falls into the vast “nature crafts” category, they’re made entirely with paper straws. Leftover, presumably, from consuming all that delicious high-fructose corn syrup.

At least these do not purport to be dolls. They’re “figures.” And they decided to breed. Yet they may be the most doll-like of the bunch, since they have their own DREAM HOUSE!

*I must note that this title pays homage to a running theme from one of my favorite blogs, You Suck at Craigslist.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment